Skip to main content

New Schubert Edition

Links to the project

The “Neue Schubert-Ausgabe” is a scholarly critical edition of all musical works of Franz Schubert (1797-1828). Its 84 volumes are classified in eight series according to groups of works and include a catalogue of works, documents concerning the biography, and catalogues of sources. Each volume lists the most important sources and interpretations, and is completed by a separate critical report. The “Neue Schubert-Ausgabe” wants to offer a text, which is supposed to serve research and musical practice likewise. This text is developed on the basis of all accessible sources. The edition of all drafts and fragments provides insights into Schubert’s composition process and the formation process of individual works.

New Schubert Edition

New Schubert Edition

Host Academy
Academy of Sciences and Literature, Mainz

Location and federal state
Tübingen, Baden-Württemberg

Music editions

Project number

There are several versions of many compositions by Schubert which have been handed down. As an “open edition” the “Neue Schubert-Ausgabe” wants to give access to all versions and variants of each work. It gives guidance to modern interpreters concerning the theory of performance in the early 19th century. Versions arranged for performance, from the surrounding of the composer are being included into the volume appendix. These offer the possibility to learn about modifications and flourishes which were common practice in Schubert’s days. Two departments in Tübingen and Wien work on the “Neue Schubert-Ausgabe” since 1965. It is financed by the German Federal Republic, the federate of Baden-Wuerttemberg, the Austrian Republic, and the city of Vienna. The international project is supervised by the Academy of Sciences and Literature, Mainz, as well as of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, Vienna.

Back to overview