Skip to main content

Neue Brahms-Ausgabe

Links to the project

The “Neue Johannes Brahms Gesamtausgabe” brings forward Johannes Brahms’ compositional oeuvre in a historical-critical edition. Included are alternative versions, that remained unpublished by the composer, as well as adaptations by the composer of his own and external works. The goal of the edition is the reproduction of authentic texts, which are relieved from typing-, copying, and engraving errors as well as unauthorised additions to get to the intentions of the composer as close as possible. The “Johannes Brahms Gesamtausgabe” should provide a basis for the scientific discussion with Brahms’ oeuvre which is as reliable as for interpretations of his music that are faithful to the original. At least 68 volumes are planned with incorporated critical reports in 10 series. Next to the full-time scientific team, a few external publishers from Europe and the USA are involved in the edition. It uses all accessible and relevant work-sources. Compositions, drafts, and sketches that were only handed down fragmentarily are collected as well, evaluated regarding the importance, and documented in an appropriate form. Corrections within the transcripts of works, which give some indication on the composition process, are verified likewise. In contrast to other significant composers of his times, Brahms only commented sparsely on his works and additionally destroyed early documents of his compositional development to a large extent. Because the historicity of his works does not merely appear in their genesis, the publishing process, the first performances, as well as the tendencies of the early reception are documented in the introduction of the volumes against the respective background of the history of genre.

Neue Brahms-Ausgabe

Neue Brahms-Ausgabe

Host Academy
Academy of Sciences and Literature, Mainz

Location and federal state
Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein

Music editions

Project number

Back to overview