Skip to main content

Complete Works of Carl Maria von Weber

Links to the project

The new Weber Complete Edition is based on the current status of musicological editing processes, with a clear focus on the historical aspect in addition to the critical aspect. It presents all of Weber’s musical works, including the piano excerpts from his own and foreign works as well as his arrangements of his own and foreign works, taking into account all available sources. Fragmentary compositions, drafts and sketches are also documented in an appropriate form after a thorough examination. Incerta may be published in series X. Planned are about 46 volumes of music including critical reports, 8 volumes of diaries, 10 volumes of letters and 2 volumes of writings as well as 5 volumes of documents and a catalogue raisonné. External tape editors are also involved in the output.

Carl Maria von Weber, Berlin Edition

Complete Works of Carl Maria von Weber

Host Academy
Academy of Sciences and Literature, Mainz

Location and federal state
Berlin, Berlin; Detmold, North Rhine-Westphalia

Music editions

Project number

Aim of the edition is to reproduce authentic texts and versions of the work as well as to document the genesis of the work. The printed work texts are cleared of unambiguous spelling, copying, and printing errors and released from all additions that were only created by subsequent interventions in the historical document handed down. The various authorised versions of a work are intended to provide historical evidence of the author’s current state of compositional development. The main source selected in the edition should “shine through” as clearly as possible in spite of the editor’s revising interventions, and the publisher’s interventions should be just as easily recognisable.

The Weber Complete Edition, as a historically critical edition – i. e. by documenting the history of the creation and transmission of the work in connection with a critical examination of all accessible carriers – aims to create a reliable basis both for the scholarly examination and the faithful care of Weber’s music.

Back to overview