Skip to main content
Ein überdachter Innenhof.

Academy of Sciences and Humanities in Hamburg

founded 2004

The Hamburg Academy is the youngest of the federal state academies that are affiliated with the Union.

The academy was founded in 2004 with an initiative of the city of Hamburg to encourage interdisciplinary research in Northern Germany, to network universities and research institutions and to foster the dialogue between science and the public. The Hamburg Academy is the youngest of the federal state academies that are affiliated with the Union.

Members of the Academy in Hamburg are outstanding scientists; most of them coming from in Hamburg, Schleswig-Holstein and Mecklenburg-Western-Pomerania. The Hamburg Academy is not divided in classes; the members of the Academy work in interdisciplinary working groups on solutions to fundamental scholarly problems and socially significant questions of the future. The objects of investigation of the projects range from peace studies and conflict research to infection research, climate change, quantum mechanics and gravitation, nanotechnology and network research, and extend to questions concerning hydrogen research and comparisons of methodological standards in the sciences.

Academy of Sciences and Humanities in Hamburg

Edmund-Siemers-Allee 1
20146 Hamburg
Tel. 040 / 429 48 669 - 0
Fax 040 / 448 07 52

Every two years the Academy awards the Hamburg Science Award, which is endowed by the Helmut and Hannelore Greve Foundation for Science, Development and Culture with 100,000 Euros. The Hamburg Academy also promotes young scientists. One example of this is its programme Forum Young Science, which provides funds for conference projects and promotes young researchers as Young Academy Fellows. With its transdisciplinary school laboratory, the Academy supports young people in the understanding and appraisal of scientific, societal and political processes. The academy engages in lecture series and podium discussions to help create dialogue between science and society.

Executive Commite

Prof. Dr Mojib Latif

Climate physics



Prof. Dr. Gabriele Clemens

Vice president
History science

Prof. Dr. Andreas K. Engel



Prof. Dr. Tania Lincoln





Claudia Raap

Scientific Instructor

Dr. Elke Senne

Scientific Publications

Dr. Florian Henri Besthorn

Press and Public Relations

Dagmar Penzlin

Secretariat and Event Management

Veronika Schopka


Silke Hellerich